January 4, 2018

Mayor Hancock and National Western Center Partners Name Authority Board Member Nominees

DENVER – Mayor Michael B. Hancock, Colorado State University and the Western Stock Show Association today announced their appointments to the National Western Center Authority Board. The 13-member Board, chaired by former Lt. Gov. Joe Garcia, will oversee the operations and programming of the year-round campus for agricultural education, innovation and entertainment, as laid out in the National Western Center Framework Agreement.

“This board has a very important duty – to guide this community asset for the maximum benefit to our community,” Mayor Hancock said. “I have no doubt that this impressive group of public servants will set a positive course for the National Western Center and for the neighborhoods it will call home.”

The Board will partner, collaborate and engage with the Globeville and Elyria-Swansea neighborhoods to ensure the National Western Center directly benefits the surrounding neighborhoods and residents for the foreseeable future, including the development of a community benefits agreement. The Mayor has requested that the Authority Board create a community benefits agreement that fosters continued direct dialogue between the future campus and the neighborhood representatives. In addition to the programming, operation and maintenance of the campus, the Board will provide input to Gretchen Hollrah, Executive Director of the Mayor’s Office of the National Western Center, regarding the city’s buildout of the new campus.

“Colorado State University is proud to play an ongoing role in guiding this milestone project forward and shaping it as an asset that will benefit our community and the people of Colorado for generations to come,” said CSU President and Chancellor Tony Frank. “We look forward to collaborating with community, industry and organizational stakeholders to bring this project to life as an inclusive, responsive and exciting hub of education, innovation and entertainment.”

“In the formation of the National Western Center Authority, no more important task exists than the Mayor’s nomination of high quality individuals to the initial board of directors having varied backgrounds, including neighborhood residents, diversity of opinions and skill sets appropriate and necessary for the implementation of our aspirational global vision; and the Mayor has met the challenge beautifully,” said Pat Grant, Board Chair for the Western Stock Show Association.

“This is the best chance our neighborhoods have in moving forward and we are all excited for the educational, cultural and economic opportunities this campus will bring our community,” said John Zapien, GES voting community member. “We have a lot of work to do and there will be trying times, but we will work together to make the National Western Center a place we are proud of.”

Per the framework agreement, the National Western Center Authority is governed by a Board composed of 13 members: 11 voting members and 2 non-voting members. The following individuals have been nominated to serve on the board, with city nominations subject to confirmation by Denver City Council:

City and County of Denver (7 voting Board seats, 2 non-voting Board seats):

  • Joe Garcia, Board Chair – President, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, Former Lt. Governor (previously confirmed by City Council)
  • Jacque Hinman – Former President and CEO, CH2M (pending City Council confirmation)
  • Robb Brown – Principal, The Denver Retail Group (pending City Council confirmation)
  • Kelly Leid – Executive Vice President, Oakwood Homes (pending City Council confirmation)
  • Monique Lovato – CEO and Executive Director, Mi Casa Resource Center (pending City Council confirmation)
  • Steve McCarthy – Chairman and CEO, Além International Management, Inc. (pending City Council confirmation)
  • John Zapien – Resident of the Globeville or Elyria-Swansea neighborhoods, voting community member (pending City Council confirmation)
  • Lilliana Flores Amaro – Resident of the Globeville or Elyria-Swansea neighborhoods (non-voting community member, pending City Council confirmation)
  • Brendan Hanlon – Chief Financial Officer, City and County of Denver (ex-officio board member, non-voting)

Colorado State University (2 voting Board seats):Colorado State University (2 voting Board seats):

  • Dr. Tony Frank – President and Chancellor, Colorado State University
  • Amy Parsons – Executive Vice Chancellor of Colorado State University

Western Stock Show Association (2 voting Board seats):Western Stock Show Association (2 voting Board seats):

  • Pat Grant – Chairman of the Board, Western Stock Show Association
  • Paul Andrews – President and CEO, National Western Stock Show

The nominees have been selected due to their demonstrated commitment to the vision for and continued viability of the future campus; expertise in planning, design, construction, programming, marketing, financing, fundraising or other relevant experience; and personal integrity, passion, innovative ability, patience and collaborative ability.

The Mayor’s Office of the National Western Center will commence a national search for the President and CEO of the National Western Center Authority during the first quarter of 2018. Candidates will be submitted to the National Western Center Authority Board for its review and ultimate selection. The Authority will be incorporated by the City and County of Denver as a Colorado nonprofit corporation to program, operate and maintain the campus prior to the end of the first quarter of 2018.

Internet Explorer versions 8 and 7 are currently not supported by this website.